Whitetop Mountain Band: Island in the Sky


In stock



The Whitetop Mountain area of Virginia is rich in musical tradition and is still home to many musicians. The Whitetop Mountain Band was originally formed in the 1940’s by Albert Hash, and is now led by Hash’ brother-in-law Thornton Spencer and his wife Emily. The music includes hard-driving flat-footing music, gentle two-step tunes and some entertaining ballads. Band members are Thornton Spencer on fiddle, Emily Spencer on banjo and vocals, Martha Spencer on guitar, fiddle and vocals, Ersel Fletcher on guitar and vocals and Debbie Brammer on bass.

Track list

  1. Hensley’s Dusty Miller
  2. Under the August Moon
  3. Uncle Eph’s got the Coon
  4. What’s the Matter with the Mill
  5. Black Mountain Blues
  6. Russell County Queen
  7. Jesse James
  8. Distant Land to Roam
  9. Mississippi Sawyer
  10. Why Must it Be So
  11. Sourwood Mountain
  12. Maiden’s Prayer
  13. Bll Cheatham
  14. Cabbage Head Song
  15. Henry Lee
  16. Bear Creek
  17. Wabash Cannonball
  18. Ragtime Annie

Additional information

Weight .19 lbs
Dimensions 5.5 x 5 x .5 in